On A Better Note

In an attempt to navigate the next two weeks sans boyfriend, I believe I’ve started out on a better note than in the past. While I haven’t necessarily been eating the best, I’ve at least been working out!

He left on Wednesday, and while I had every intention of going to Crossfit that night, around 2:30 in the afternoon, I sliced my middle finger (on my right hand, of course) open with a scissors while trying to open a box. Dammit. It turned out to be not as bad as it looked, but I had a large bandage on it for the rest of day and thought doing any sort of lifting would prove difficult. And so I went over to Kristin’s to enjoy a glass (or two) of wine, some delicious homemade guacamole and chips and great conversation (as always).

Thursday it was time to get out the door! I went on a run after work and ended up doing 3.6 miles at a 9:24 pace. Not too bad considering it was chilly (I had on a tshirt and shorts), I was uncomfortable (my shorts were bunching… they are old AND they don’t like to fit over my new Crossfit butt anymore…), and it was my first run in awhile. I always feel like I can’t open up my stride enough and it seems that my hip flexors are the culprit. Afterwards, I stretched and did the hip exercises that I know. It seemed to help as I felt SO good afterwards and not sore at all.

Friday was a half day at work! During the summer, my company allows its employees to have “summer hours” which means you work 10-hour days Monday thru Thursday (nine hours with a one hour lunch) then you only need to work four hours on Friday. I wasn’t aware Summer Hours started last week, so I had to improvise a bit. I ended up being able to leave around 1pm on Friday – not bad! When I got home, I had lunch (carrots and then some leftover meat sauce) and got ready for Crossfit at 4:30pm.  Before CF, I went to Vitamin Shoppe to get more fish oil since I was almost out. As for the workout…

Friday, May 11

Strength: Back Squat (85lbs)

WOD

3x800m, rest 3min (“all-out sprint”)

Times: #1-3:56, #2-3:54, #3-3:47

For the back squat, I didn’t try to go up any higher than 85lbs because I still need to work on my form. You think you’re going down far enough, but it’s still not enough! Tyler then mentioned how important the back squat was regarding hip mobility and it makes sense. The more you strengthen all of those muscles (quads, glutes, hamstrings, etc.) the better the platform your hips have to perform on.

I was not looking forward to the 800s. To me, that is a hard distance to run, or “sprint.” I tried to break it down into three sections – 1)go out hard, 2)slow-up and take it easy, and 3)finish strong. I seemed to do all right and I was pleased that my times went down with each 800.

On Saturday, I went for a run with Alefiyah again. This time I felt much better. I wore a long sleeve tshirt and capris which was much more comfortable as well. We ended up doing 4.7 miles at a 9:46 pace (although I think we did the last mile much faster). It’s SO nice to run with someone else! And although I ate completely unhealthy that morning (HUGE cinnamon role and a tortilla) I still felt okay during the run (probably could have had more energy, though). It helps to run with someone on the weekends, too, because that is when I now find it hardest to actually get out there.

Sunday was my friend’s surprise birthday-Brewer game outing, so that took up most of the day. Unfortunately we lost pretty bad, but it was nice to see her and her husband. I took it easy the rest of the day and did a load of laundry and ate dinner. Tonight is Crossfit at 6:30 (late for me!) in order to make up time at work today for coming in late (to avoid the dreaded Monday Morning Meeting and monthly birthday celebration). I hope to prepare some broccoli and chicken or a salad for lunch tomorrow and maybe something for breakfast to get back on track with my eating.

Leave a Reply

