I wrote this last week, don’t judge.

Oh my. It has been almost three weeks since I last posted. Oops! Here’s what’s been going on…

We moved… Again.

Because of summer hours, I am unable to get out of work any earlier than 5pm, so unfortunately, I was unable to CrossFit at all during the last week of May. (Probably a lame excuse, but we hadn’t packed a thing until about 2 days before we had to move, so that is what my evenings consisted of.)

I have become horrible at push-ups.

Granted, yes, strict CrossFit-style push-ups are much harder than “normal” push-ups, but I struggle to do a set of ten. So anyway, I decided that I would do ten push-ups everyday in order to get better at them. Well, one morning while I was waiting for my breakfast to finish cooking, I started to bust out a set. On the seventh one, something happened. My back/shoulders locked up and screamed at me. Shit. I pinched a nerve. At least I think I did. At any rate, that put me out of almost another week of CrossFit.

I started to run again.

I don’t think I’ll be running a full marathon this year. The entry fee alone for New York is over $200. Stupid. So, I’ve decided I need to run a few half marathons. My back felt okay running, so that’s what I did last week. Four miles on Monday, 5.5 on Tuesday, a bike ride on Wednesday, and 3.4 miles of intervals on Thursday. Not bad for the first week!

I burned the sh*t out of my entire body on Sunday.

I had a lot of fun on Sunday, I really did. Tristan and I met some other people from our box (I really HATE calling CrossFit gyms “box”) down on Bradford Beach around 10am on Sunday for a “SEAL-style” workout. 10 rounds of 20 push-ups, 20 flutter kicks and a sprint, with half your body in the water (for the push-ups and flutter kicks). It was HOT on Sunday, so being in the water really wasn’t that bad. Except for the smell. But that’s Lake Michigan for ya. After the workout, some of us stayed to lay out on the beach. Tristan and I finally left around 1pm. No, I did not put sunscreen on. Yes, that would have been smart, but we only had SPF 50 and if you don’t lather it over every square inch of your body, you get funny tan lines everywhere. (Terrible excuse, I know… and now I’m paying for it. Pretty much my entire body is red, even two days later. I’ve been reapplying after-sun lotion throughout the day because I don’t want to peel. Good thing I have a wedding to attend this weekend, right? Sigh.)

After the beach we took advantage of Downtown Dining Week and had a late lunch at Louise’s.  (Downtown Dining Week in Milwaukee is where a bunch of downtown-area restaurants offer a three-course $10 lunch menu, or $20 or $30 dinner menu. At some places it’s worth it, and others it’s not. Louise’s is totally worth it!) Anyway, I ran some errands afterward and then did some work around the apartment.

Yesterday, my body was still aching from the sunburn, so no exercise for me. Tristan and I relaxed, then threw the frisbee around the park a little and then got a movie from RedBox. We watched Moneyball which I really enjoyed. I have such a hard time sitting down and watching movies, especially if they aren’t comedies, but this one was worth it.

CrossFit is in the plan for today. I’m worried I won’t even be able to get into my sports bra without my skin pitching a fit, but I’m definitely going to try!

An update on food…

I’m proud to say that I haven’t had a “treat” at work since Monday, May 21! I’ve indulged here and there (outside of work), but not as much as I expected. I made some banana muffins that had less than a 1/4 teaspoon of brown sugar in them (there were 6 regular-sized muffins), I had a “Concrete Mixer” from Culver’s on the way to the WORS race a couple of weekends ago (chocolate ice cream with oreo pieces… NOT worth it), and this past weekend I had some baklava (which was so good!) and a brownie (not so good). Other than that, if I get a craving, I make “paleo cookie dough” (almond butter, coconut flour, vanilla, cinnamon, pinch of salt, and lots of chocolate chips). My cravings for “bad” stuff have all but disappeared.

I initially started this because I couldn’t believe the weight I had gained and the crap I was eating every single day. Plus, I couldn’t face my friends at this wedding (in California!) this weekend looking (probably mostly just feeling) huge. I’m so glad that I finally did something about it. I hope to continue eating healthier at work (I really need to cut out the tortillas!) as well as making smart decisions while I’m out and at home.

Leave a Reply

