Success?

I survived the weekend!

Well, sorta…

Tristan was gone, so I really wanted to make sure that I didn’t completely blow all the hard work that I’ve accomplished over the past month. I’m proud to say that the only “splurge” I had was a brownie and some Greek frozen yogurt. BUT… I had a lot, and I mean a LOT, of “paleo cookie dough.” Better than straight sugar, yes – still not that healthy though. Annnd, as I have mentioned before, I HATE cooking for myself when Tristan is gone, so I resorted to this sandwich I love from Outpost, three single-serve bags of kettle chips (eaten with the sandwiches), and pre-made pasta salad from Outpost, among other things. All in all, I would say it was a success compared to what I have eaten in the past when Tristan is gone. (Decadent dessert every.single.night. … and sometimes more than once a day! Not to mention all the cookies and cinnamon rolls I ate at work…)

SO! With that said, I just need to watch what I eat for the next couple of days to get back on track. I’m thinking a few salads and grilled chicken with broccoli. Ooo, or maybe stir fry!

I spent my weekend trying to relax. Saturday I shopped with Kristin for most of the day and then we had a snack at Cheesecake Factory (small salads from their “skinny” menu… dressing on the side) while chatting about all things Paleo and natural medicine. Afterwards, I continued to run around doing errands and finally made it home round 8pm. Long day! Sunday I took my dad golfing for his birthday, had lunch with him, then he fixed the headlight on my car. I finished up with some grocery shopping and did some things around the apartment. I still feel like I need to catch up on sleep though, so I really hope to get to bed early tonight!

Friday, I did the CrossFit Endurance workout during lunch (8-12×200 with one minute rest) and ended up doing 10×200 with most of them in the 9-9.5 range. I actually made it to crossfit that night too. Here was the workout:

Day 23 – Friday, June 22

Strength: 3RM Back Squat (85lbs)

WOD

3 Rounds

400m run

15 Thrusters

15 Pull-ups

I have no idea what my time was. There was a visiting coach from another area box who ran the class and when I yelled “time!” he said it, but then wrote it down right away, so there was no reason for me to remember. I think it was around 13-15? Maybe 17? I have no clue… Anyway, I did the thrusters with 45lbs, which felt okay, but I find that hardest part of the movement now to be the push press at the end. My shoulders were burning! For the push-ups, I did the first 10 with just the (thicker) purple band, then the rest with both purple bands (thick and thin). I should have had another combination of bands though. While they did get tough toward the end, I felt like the bands were helping me too much after I added the second purple one.

I was able to get 85lbs on the 3RM back squat. As far as I know, my 1RM is 105, so 85 makes sense. However, I worked my way up to that very slowly, so perhaps could have done more weight. The third one at 85lbs was tough, but it was such a good feeling making my legs push that weight up, even though if just for a moment, it felt like my hamstrings were just doing to sit right there.

Lots of leg work/running on Friday, but I didn’t (and still don’t) feel too sore!

The weather is actually cool today, so I might take the day off from crossfit and run outside. I need to do this more, but I’ve been such a baby when it comes to the weather and running. I like it when it’s 65-75 degrees, but it has been 80, sometimes 90-plus and it’s looking to stay that way after tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

