A Lovely Weekend

So, I went to CrossFit once last week…

Day 25 – Wednesday, June 27

Strength: Snatch (5@50%, 5@60%, 5@70%) – 20lbs, 25lbs, 30lbs

WOD

50-40-30-20-10

Jumping Squats

Hand-release Push-ups

160m(ish) sprint

Time: 25:40

Needless to say, I couldn’t move for a good 2 days afterward. CrossFit was certainly out of the question for the rest of the week. I actually ended up doing a fun little interval workout on the treadmill earlier on Wednesday during lunch. I had asked Tristan if he could make something up for me and this is what he came up with:

2 50m sprints @ 80%; rest 20 seconds between

Rest 30 seconds

2 100m sprints @ 80%; rest 20 seconds between

Rest 30 seconds

4 200m sprints, 2 @ 80%, 2 @ 100%; rest 30 seconds between

I ended up doing most of the sprints at 9.0 and 1.5 incline. For the last two 200m, I started at 9.4 and worked my way up to 10.0. Those were tough!

As you can see, I had a day full of sprinting and calve movements. They were SO tight the next two days! My arms were shot too from all of the push-ups.

Thursday, I wanted to do something, so I warmed up slow and jogged on the treadmill for almost 3 miles and then stretched. Friday, I went for a walk with Tristan and played frisbee. That night we had dinner on Brady street with some friends and then walked the mile(ish) home. Saturday was a lazy morning spent watching the Tour de France, then getting brunch at the Plaza. We had to wait for a table, and luckily ended up sitting outside in the courtyard. After brunch, Tristan headed out to ride at Crystal Ridge while I did some work around the house. Finally, around 3pm, I went out for a run. Yes, it was over 80 degrees out in the middle of the afternoon. BUT! The trail I ran on was actually 75% shady so it was perfect! I started out at a decent “cruising” pace, but slowed down on the way back. I covered about 6.3 miles at a 9:29(ish) pace — not bad!

Saturday night, we biked to the Downer Classic and hung out with friends and watched the pro race. Then Tristan and I had a late dinner at Cafe Hollander (I really need to start taking pictures of my food!), had a few beers, and biked home.

Sunday, we had another lazy start to the day, watched the Tour and I made breakfast for us. I whipped up some scrambled eggs and tried a recipe for protein pancakes… as far as I know, Tristan liked them… but I wasn’t a fan. I added a banana and a half because the one we had was on the small size, so perhaps that had something to do with the texture. It was too gritty/fluffy/eggy for my taste. It reminded me of paleo baked-goods that have a million eggs in them… yuck. Anyway, after breakfast, we showered up and biked to Crank Daddy’s to purchase a bike lock, did some work at Alterra, then had a late lunch at Whole Foods (a loaded salad for Tristan and salmon and avocado roll for me). We biked back home, only to hop in the car to go back to Whole Foods to do our grocery shopping. Afterwards, we hit up Pick-n-Save for a few more things. By the time we got home it was 6pm! I vacuumed and chopped up veggies for lunches and prepared my salad for the next day. Dinner was roasted broccoli (finally tried this – yum!) and grilled Grass-fed skirt steak.

I finished off the night with some paleo cookie dough… and wasn’t able to fall asleep very quickly. I’m amounting that to eating chocolate so close to bedtime, but it could have been because we didn’t have the A/C on.  (I’m hoping for the latter!)

The weather was hot but perfect this weekend – not windy and warm enough at night to wear shorts and be comfortable. I LOVE that about Wisconsin (and HATE that about southern CA… you’re telling me I have to wear jeans and a jacket at night in the middle of summer in sunny California? No thanks!)

I’m kicking myself for not taking photos… all I have is this one that Tristan sent to me from the bike race. (He’s obsessed with Instagram 😛

Also, yay for a short week! (Off on Wednesday and Friday!) Enjoy your Monday 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

