Update on The Boot

I know it has been quite awhile since I’ve posted. And I guess there really is no good reason for it, just laziness and lack of interest. But I thought I need to blog about what has been going on with my foot and how I’ve been coping.

First, a quick update…

Tristan is finally home after 28 days on the road. It was a long month and hard because while I missed him in general, I was left to fend for myself with a busted foot. This does nothing for recovery time! But he’s home now and we’re both happy 🙂

The last two weeks that he was gone I started to read Wheat Belly and decided that I need to kick the wheat habit and start eating healthier. I went sans-tortilla for breakfast (and haven’t had one going on three weeks now!) and started to cook my own meals, for once. They were and still are simple – meat (usually salmon or chicken), sautéed zucchini or spinach, and sweet potato. This meal fills me up, yet I did still indulge in my nut butter obsession… until Tristan came home. So much easier not to eat it when there is someone to talk to at night!

As for exercising? That has been mostly nonexistent except for doing abs and arms at home. After my last appointment for my foot, I stopped going to CrossFit. I was going to start back up again, but then my foot really started to hurt. I stopped swimming too for the same reason. It’s been hard. Also, this was the time last year when I really started to enjoy my long runs during marathon training. And as the temps drop a little, it has gotten so hard to see people out and about running. I miss it so much!

So, with that said… my foot. A couple of days after my last appointment on August 29, I went for a swim. I wanted to get in a good workout, so at the end, I did 400m of kicking with a board. I believe that in addition to this and driving around everywhere (for groceries and to work, mostly) really inflamed my foot because since then, it has hurt and hasn’t gotten better. This is why I have been avoiding exercise. I have another appointment on Wednesday and I am so nervous as to what I will hear. I think worse-case scenario would be to have to have surgery, but to be put in a hard cast with crutches to take all pressure off the foot. You see, if I am stuck in this boot for another three weeks (which I really have no doubt will happen) I plan on just not wearing it while I’m in Hawaii. The trip is too special to ruin it with “the boot” and I will have all the time in the world to heal when I get back. I don’t plan on doing anything crazy while there — no running or legs workouts — but I just want to be able to walk at a normal pace, work comfortably, and most importantly – be able to go on the beach! I realize this is not the smartest thing to do, but I’ll be damned if I’m stuck in a boot on the trip that I saved every ounce of vacation time that I have left to take.

Surprisingly, I haven’t gained any weight. I’ve stayed the same that I was before I got the boot. This probably has something to do with loosing muscle, unfortunately, and now, that I’m eating better, a healthier diet. The only thing that I have noticed is extra weight in my face (wtf?!) and a nice little ring around my stomach. I think this is directly a contribution of all the bread that I ate (aaannnnd maybe a little a lot to do with eating so much nut butter). So that is the unfortunate thing. I can’t do anything to work those extra calories off, so they stick around. Not happy with their placement either! But, what are you going to do other than change your ways? So that’s what I’m doing. I feel so much better when I eat better! If I stick with this, I don’t think I’ll be in too bad of shape by the time Kona rolls around.

I have a long week of extra hours at work in order to make up for leaving extra early on Friday to get to a wedding in central Iowa (Tristan is in the wedding party, so we need to be there by Friday afternoon). I will update when I hear more news about my foot on Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

