Better Late Than Never, Part Two

All right, where were we?

This was my view from my post as cashier for the week:

The giant tent was to my right, with the hot air return from the A/C blowing on my face all day… BUT, I was in Hawaii, so I didn’t care. 🙂

Anyway, we were able to get some time to check out one of the CrossFit gyms on the Island – Big Island CrossFit.

Couldn’t quite get the whole logo with my phone!

Emily took us through a great workout and even scaled it for me since I was still taking it easy post-boot. It was my first time working out at a different box. It was a great experience and I hope to visit more when I get the chance.

Post WOD

Moving along in this very dis-jointed recount of Hawaii…

Sunset the night before the race.

Sad photo of the age-group start. Only about half of the field was out in the water at that point!

Fireman Rob from Madison, WI (woot woot!) finishing just before midnight, decked out in full gear, to raise cancer awareness and as a tribute to those who lost their lives on 9/11.

Adriana and I at the after party.

And a few photos of our last hours on the Island…

This was at a very cool state park type area where there were dozens of turtles hanging out in the water. This guy was chilling on the beach. Very cool to be able to get so close!

Oh Hawaii…. It was sort of a bittersweet year. We were very busy with work and work-related commitments and our entire first day was consumed with traveling to the Island (in years past we’ve arrived mid-afternoon). But it’s Hawaii, and I really do love it there. Someday I hope to make it to the other islands and perhaps visit just to… visit.

Until next time, aloha.

Leave a Reply

