Back to School, Back to School…

It’s official: I am now a part-time student!

I took the math placement test (finally) and basically bombed it, to be honest. Most of the time I had been studying for college level math, thinking that is what would be on the test. Nope! There were two sections: Elementary Algebra and Arithmetic. Talk about trying to remember the basics! I felt really stupid not knowing some of those questions that should probably be easy. Needless to say, I tested in to Pre-Algebra. Not exactly what I wanted, but now that I think about it, if for some reason I had tested in to Intermediate Algebra I would have been SO lost! This way I can work my way up again, even if it means taking (and paying for) an extra class.

So! I will be taking pre-algebra and Intro to Psychology for the spring semester. The Psychology class will be online so I don’t have to drive out to the school more than once a week. Let me tell you, it feels so good to have something in place, a path to follow, and a goal to reach for.

Switching gears… It has been a month since I’ve been back in the gym full-time. During my lunch hour I get in a good, sweaty incline workout on the treadmill, then head to CrossFit after work (not all days are two-a-days). It has felt SO good to get back in the gym and get in a hard workout! Not to mention doing CrossFit workouts as they are written on the board – no modifying! (Unless there is running involved.)

I got semi-custom inserts for my shoes that I wear everyday to work (even though they make me look like a dork) and that I wear when I run on the treadmill. I have been wearing my Nikes (without the inserts) for CrossFit workouts because they seem to give me better range of motion. My foot has been feeling fine… but I’ve come to realize (with the help of the physical therapist I saw to get my inserts) that it’s my ankle that is now the problem. It is (or was at the point) so much weaker than my left. I just didn’t think of that at all while I was wearing the boot! I was given some exercises to do, which I’ve been forgetting, but I feel that all of the activity I do at the gym and CrossFit aides in strengthening my ankle. Squatting has been hard. I seem to be overcompensating for my weak angle and my form is just atrocious! Which tells you something because I used to have perfect form (if I do say so myself). But, it seems things are looking up because…

Last night we did “Fran.” AND found our 1RM for thrusters. I knew that would happen – he always seems to program thrusters as the strength whenever we do Fran. Ugh.

But! I worked up to 85lbs on my Thruster, which is definitely a PR (I’m not sure I’ve ever found my 1RM before). And I PR’ed on Fran, too! I used 50lbs for the Thrusters (the past two times I’ve done Fran, I’ve used 45lbs) and a blue and skinny red band for pull-ups. I finished in 8:40 which is over two minutes faster than my previous time with more weight! Woohoo! Something must be working…

I plan on hitting the gym today and tomorrow during lunch and hopefully CrossFit both nights too. I heard we are doing another benchmark workout today… I wonder “who” it will be…

Leave a Reply

